5/10 Denied

So, I woke up this beautiful Saturday morning and, while waiting for my fritatta to bake, I decided to check my email. Lo and behold, there it was: another rejection, this one from my favorite agent. It was a nice little letter, but no matter how sweet, it was still a form letter and that kind of hurts a bit. Yet another letter to add to the rejection spike. Now is when I keep reminding myself that so many of the books I love today were initially rejected multiple times before they were published. Hell, Harry Potter was rejected a dozen times. Now, no, I don’t fancy myself as the next J.K. Rowling, but we do what we need to to keep our heads above the waters of depression. So, if you’re in my shoes and need a little reminding that not everyone is accepted on the first couple submissions, here’s some facts I dredged up from the internet:

  • Beatrix Potter had to publish The Tale of Peter Rabbit by herself
  • Tamora Pierce was rejected four times before someone recommended editing her manuscript for The Song of The Lioness into a young adult series. I have been unable to find how many times it was rejected after that.
  • Gertrude Stein submitted poems for 22 years before one was accepted (This one’s for you, Tara and Olivia!)
  • Carrie by Stephen King was rejected 30 times
  • Rudyard Kipling was told he didn’t know how to use the English language
  • A Wrinkle in Time was rejected 26 times
  • Frank Herbert’s Dune was rejected 23 times
  • Agatha Christie had to wait 5 years before being published
  • And, of course, J.K. Rowling was told not to quit her day job

If you’d be interested in learning more, there is a website dedicated to stories of bestsellers and their initial rejections.

So, another rejection to add to my spike, but at least I have a lovely fritatta.

What do you think?

